Formation of IUOE

  • National Union of Steam Engineers of America formed by 11 men from eight states in December, 1896 *
  • Received charter from AFL in 1897
  • After first Canadian workers joined in 1898, changed name to International Union of Steam Engineers
  • In 1912 name changed to International Union of Steam and Operating Engineers as involvement by members in construction activities grew
  • In 1928 the name was changed to the International Union of Operating Engineers

* Use of the word “steam” was not meant to exclude anyone, but at the time steam was the primary motive power

Forerunners of Local 18

  • Local 114 (Cincinnati) Chartered in 1902
  • Local 293 (Cleveland) Chartered in 1903
  • (Re-chartered in 1923 as Local 874 under supervision of the International)
  • Local 313 (Toledo) Chartered in 1906
  • Local 482 (Dayton) Chartered in 1911
  • Local 561 (Akron) *Chartered 1914-18
  • Local 546 (Columbus) *Chartered 1914-18

* Specific dates not available.

Local 18 Business Managers

  • Frank P. Converse (title was President and Business Representative) 1939-1967
  • John Possehl, Jr. 1967-77
  • Earl Erwin 1977-82
  • Frank J. Miller 1982-90
  • James H. Gardner 1990-2004
  • Patrick L. Sink 2004-2015
  • Richard E. Dalton 2015-

Federal legislation affecting unions (not all-inclusive)

1914 Clayton Act – Clarified labor’s position under antitrust laws, and included several major provisions protective of organized labor.

1931 Davis-Bacon Act – Required that contracts for construction entered into by federal government specify the minimum wages to be paid to those employed under those contracts.

1932 Norris-LaGuardia Act – Gave federal sanction to the right of labor unions to organize and strike, and to use other forms of economic leverage in dealings with management.

1935 Wagner Act – (National Labor Relations Act) which guaranteed workers in activities affecting interstate commerce the right to organize and join labor movements, to choose representatives and bargain collective and to strike. The National Labor Relations Board was created by the Act, forbidding employers from engaging several categories of unfair labor practices.

1936 Walsh-Healy Act – Stated workers must be paid not less than the “prevailing minimum wage” normally paid in a locality, restricted regular working hours to eight hours a day and 40 hours a week, with time-and-a-half for additional hours.

1947 Taft-Hartley Act – (Labor-Management Relations Act) Gave employers the right to conduct anti-union sessions on company time, without equal rights for unions. Secondary boycotts were outlawed and restored the use of federal injunctions in strikes (outlawed since 1932). Congress passed this over the veto of President Truman.

1959 Landrum-Griffin Act – (Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act) Made major additions to Taft-Hartley including a ban on organizational or recognition picketing and defined additional unfair labor practices.

1970 Occupational Safety and Health Act – Created to ensure employers provide employees with an environment free from recognized hazards.